Commission on Tephra Hazard Modeling

Working Group on Eruption Source Parameters

Working Group on Eruption Source Parameters

A new working group of the Commission on Tephra Hazard Modelling is focused on creating and maintaining a community-driven online database known as IVESPA (Independent Volcanic Eruption Source Parameter Archive). The efforts are led by Thomas Aubry ( and Sam Engwell (, with the British Geological Survey providing resources to create the database and ensure its initial maintenance. IVESPA is now accessible at, and the companion manuscript is published in the Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research:

The primary aim of IVESPA is to support evaluation and development of eruptive column models, and it is being built with the following specifications:

  • Comprehensive data compilation from 130+ eruptions since 1900, representing a wide range of magnitudes and intensities;
  • Systematic assessment of uncertainties and a quality control procedure in place for data collection;
  • Strictly independent eruption source parameters, including the eupted tephra mass, duration, plume heights (top, umbrella, and SO2), atmospheric profiles, and, when available, grain size data and parameters such as vent radius and gas content.

Current members of the working group are listed below. We welcome any feedback on the website, as well as suggestions for new events or revision of existing values. Please contact Thomas and Sam for feedback or to get involved. 

Thomas J. Aubry (University of Cambridge, UK)
Sam Engwell (British Geological Survey)
Sebastien Biass (Earth Observatory of Singapore)
Costanza Bonadonna (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Marcus Bursik (University at Buffalo, USA)
Guillaume Carazzo (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France)
Julia Eychenne (University of Clermont Auvergne, France)
Mathieu Gouhier (University of Clermont Auvergne, France)
Don Grainger (University of Oxford, UK)
Mark Jellinek (University of British Columbia, Canada)
David Jessop (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France)
Larry Mastin (U.S. Geological Survey)
Anja Schmidt (University of Cambridge, UK)
Simona Scollo (Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Osservatorio Etneo, Italy)
Isabelle Taylor (University of Oxford, UK)
Alexa Van Eaton (U.S. Geological Survey)
Kristi Wallace (U.S. Geological Survey)